Level 3 Cambridge Technicals in Engineering – Diploma

OCR Exam Board

Learners will cover 12 topics; some are examined and some are tutor assessed. They take four mandatory units that will enable them to demonstrate their understanding of the underpinning mathematics and scientific principles of engineering, and the principles of mechanical and electrical/electronic engineering. Learners then choose eight further units from a range of topics that have a more practical nature and will increase the depth and breadth of their skills and knowledge. These include electrical and electronic design, circuit simulation and manufacture, electrical devices and operations, automation and robotics, Computer Aided Design and Manufacturing (CAD and CAM), engineering and the environment, mechanical simulation and modelling, lean and quality, and materials science. 

  • Course Units

    This qualification could lead to employment through an apprenticeship in engineering such as Higher Apprenticeships in Manufacturing Engineering, Power Engineering or Engineering Environmental Technologies. It could also lead directly to employment in engineering roles in electrical and electronic engineering, mechanical engineering and design, automation, systems and control and manufacturing. As part of an academic study programme, it could also form part of your basis for an application to a higher education course in engineering, alongside complementary subjects, such as GCEs in maths and/or physics or other applied qualifications. 

    Core units

    • Maths for Engineering
    • Science for Engineering
    • Principles of Mechanical Operations
    • Principles of Electrical Operations
    • Mechanical Operations
    • Mechanical Design
    • Computer aided manufacture

    Pathway specific units

    Electrical Manufacturing
    Electrical Design CAD
    Circuit simulation Maintenance
    Electrical Devices Inspection and testing
    Electrical Operations Lean and Quality
    Electrical, Mechanical, Hydraulic and pneumatic control Materials Science

    Additional experiences

    EAL Engineering Technologies Level 1 Certificate in MAG Welding

  • Modules

    The Extended Certificate is assessed using a combination of:  

    • 4 externally assessed units, which OCR set and mark 
    • 8 internal assessments, which are coursework based. These are built from a series of pass, merit and distinction tasks. Where the tutor assesses the learners’ work and OCR externally moderate it.

    Exam based units are taught in year 12 along with two further mandatory units. This enables the learner to achieve the extended certificate if needed at the end of year 12. 

  • Entry Criteria

    Grade 5 in Maths and English & GCSE design technology or engineering experience is not essential but very desirable

Apply to study in Year 10 or Year 12

Join us in September and #ProgrammeYourFuture for a career in industry with our specialisms in engineering and cyber security.

Apply Now