Level 3 Cambridge Technicals in Engineering – Extended Diploma

OCR Exam Board

Learners will cover 18 topics; some are examined and some are tutor assessed. They take four mandatory units that will enable them to demonstrate their understanding of the underpinning mathematics and scientific principles of engineering, and the principles of mechanical and electrical/electronic engineering.  Learners then choose 12 further units from a range of topics that have a more practical nature and will increase the depth and breadth of their skills and knowledge. These include electrical and electronic design, circuit simulation and manufacture, electrical devices and operations, automation and robotics, Computer Aided Design and Manufacturing (CAD and CAM), engineering and the environment, lean and quality, and materials science. They must take certain combinations of the units to lead to the awarding of a specific pathway.  Equivalent to 3 A levels. 

  • Course Units

    Core units

    • Maths for Engineering
    • Science for Engineering
    • Principles of Mechanical Operations
    • Principles of Electrical Operations
    • Mechanical Operations
    • Mechanical Design
    • Computer aided manufacture
    • Computer aided design
    • Materials science
    • Electrical, Mechanical, Hydraulic and
    • pneumatic control
    • Maintenance
    • Engineering and the environment
    • Project management for engineers
    • Promoting continuous improvement

    Pathway specific units

    Electrical Manufacturing
    Electrical Design Automation control and robotics
    Circuit simulation Systems and programming
    Electrical Devices Inspection and testing
    Electrical Operations Lean and Quality

    Additional experiences
     EAL Engineering Technologies Level 1 Certificate in MAG Welding

  • Modules

    The Extended Certificate is assessed using a combination of:  

    • 5 externally assessed units, which OCR set and mark  
    • 13 internal assessments, which are coursework based.  These are built from a series of pass, merit and distinction tasks. Where the tutor assesses the learners’ work and OCR externally moderate it. 

     Exam based units are taught in year 12 along with five further mandatory units. This enables the learner to achieve the extended certificate if needed at the end of year 12.  

  • Entry Criteria

    Grade 6 in GCSE Maths and Physics

    GCSE design technology or engineering experience is not essential but very desirable

Apply to study in Year 9, 10 or Year 12

Join us in September and #ProgrammeYourFuture for a career in industry with our specialisms in engineering and cyber security.

Apply Now